​Who will take care of you when you are old? Will it be your children, family, or friends? I doubt it! Nine times out of ten your daily care will be provided by a non medical caregiver. In Assisted Living communities and Home Health Agencies caregivers are who aging people depend on to maintain the quality of there lives.Caregivers assist the elderly and disabled with activities of daily living and much more. Although caregivers assume great responsibilities, they are under paid, and taken for granted.

Most caregivers either take their positions out of true passion for helping others, or because they do not qualify for prestigious positions. Nevertheless, their position is just as important as any other. If everyone had a degree, or some certificate that qualifies them a few extra dollars, who would be a caregiver? Most caregivers make less than ten dollars an hour, and I’d like to see a show of hands of people with degrees who would be willing to accept that wage – Oh, no hands?

Caregivers are taken for granted. If it weren’t for them there would be less elderly people who could stay in their homes. Also, Assisted Living Communities would go out of business, because their would be no staff willing to do the dirty work! The Nurses, Executive directors, Secretaries, or even the cook will not be there to wipe your parents shitty ass! Caregivers also suffer many injuries on the job from back injuries to assault wounds from demented or psychotic residents. Let me remind you that this is all for low wages.

The families of the elderly are many times ridiculously cruel to the caregivers. They look down on them, and attack them about the care being provided to their parents. While the quality of care is of utmost importance, how much can you expect from a person you are paying $8.16 per hour. Although it is important to pursue bigger goals, caregivers do work to make a living. It is depressing to go to work everyday for barely anything. On top of low wages, caregivers wear many hats, especially in assisted living homes.

I was a caregiver at a senior living community and I made $9.50 per hour. One morning I worked the second floor and one caregiver called in. On the second floor there were about 30 residents; We had two caregivers. Residents had to be provided incontinence care, showered, dressed, assisted with oral care, make up, and combing hair, etc… Each resident had a care plan that needed to be followed, and us two caregivers had to get it done. Then we transported them all to the dining room for breakfast in a timely manner. We had come to work at 7am and the residents had to be in the dining room at 9am sharp. My co worker and I sat at the dining room table assisting residents with meals, and I looked at my watch to see that after all the hard work we had done, only two hours passed.

I looked at my co worker and I said “you know for all that work we just made less than 20 bucks.” She did not smile, In fact she looked how I felt on the inside: depressed. I am currently a student pursuing a nursing degree, but in the meantime I work for a home health agency. Working for this type of company is quite different. I go to people’s homes and provide care for them. I make $9.50 per hour, and I reside in Detroit, MI. Most of my cases are in either Macomb or Northern Oakland County. The company does not pay mileage and hours certainly vary. I take care of people in their homes in many different situations, and families do not turn off just because a caregiver is there.

Racist people are still racist, children are still spanked, and don’t let me forget the arguments, and awkward moments. Honestly, I’m pretty sure I spend more money in gas than I actually make. My guess is that many people take these jobs for lack of finding another, or while they are going to college. How will you or your parent be taken care of when caregivers find better jobs, or graduate from college. My guess is you depend on their lack of success, because someone has to do the dirty work.

Leave a Reply

